## News at IU



**ADMINISTRATION** 

## Faculty to be honored with teaching and service awards

BY JAMIE CESANEK

Feb. 5, 2020



Photo by Eric Rudd, Indiana University

Indiana University will recognize the contributions of nine faculty members, one graduate student and one faculty member emeritus this spring for excellence in teaching and service.

They will be honored at the Celebration of Distinguished Teaching and Service Awards Dinner at 6 p.m. April 17 in Alumni Hall at the Indiana Memorial Union.

IU President Michael A. McRobbie will present the awards to recipients from IU Bloomington, IUPUI, IU Kokomo and IU South Bend.

For photos and more information about the recipients, click on their names for links to their pages on the <u>University Honors and Awards website</u>.

## **Teaching Awards**

Two individuals will receive the <u>President's Award for Excellence in Teaching and Learning Technology</u>. Established in 2013, the award honors highly innovative faculty members who have contributed significantly to the enhancement of teaching and learning of their students through the sustained and innovative use of technology. They are <u>Keith S. Anliker</u>, senior lecturer of chemistry in the School of Science at IUPUI, and <u>Curtis J. Bonk</u>, professor of information systems technology in the School of Education at IU Bloomington.

Eric L. Wright, graduate teaching assistant of sociology in the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington, will receive the <u>Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Award</u>. Established in 1961, the award is presented to outstanding teachers among the university's graduate students who combine their programs of advanced study with instructional employment in their schools and departments.

The <u>President's Award for Distinguished Teaching</u> will be presented to three individuals. Established in 1974, the award recognizes outstanding teaching, research or service and honors the most exceptional faculty, their devotion to students and their strong commitment to the university's fundamental missions of excellence in education and research. The recipients are <u>Martha G. Oakley</u>, professor of chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington; <u>Rob Elliott</u>, senior lecturer of computer information and graphics technology in the School of Engineering and Technology at IUPUI; and <u>Carolyn A. Schult</u>, professor of psychology in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at IU South Bend.

<u>Elizabeth Kryder-Reid</u>, chancellor's professor of anthropology in the School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI, will receive the <u>Thomas Ehrlich Service Learning Award</u>. The award honors faculty members who have advanced students' civic learning and shown outstanding leadership in integrating community and public service into their teaching.

## Service Awards

<u>Victor M.H. Borden</u>, professor of education leadership and policy studies in the School of Education at IU Bloomington, will receive the <u>W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service</u>. Established in 1988, the award recognizes faculty members and librarians who have shown exceptional breadth of involvement in service.

Three individuals will receive the <u>John W. Ryan Award for Distinguished Contributions to International Programs and Studies</u>. Initiated in 1991, the award honors faculty members and librarians from all campuses for exceptional contributions to the university's international programs and studies. The recipients are <u>Linda Wallace</u>, former dean and associate professor emeritus in the School of Nursing at IU Kokomo; <u>Gabriel Filippelli</u>, professor of earth sciences in the School of Science at IUPUI; and <u>Rebecca Manring</u>, professor of religious studies in the College of Arts and Sciences at IU Bloomington.

CELEBRATING 200 YEARS



INDIANA UNIVERSITY NEWS & MEDIA

517 E. Kirkwood Avenue Von Lee Second Floor Bloomington, IN 47408

newsroom@iu.edu